Chickpea Eggless Quiche

Chickpea Eggless Quiche


For those of you that are not crazy about eggs, try making Chickpea Eggless Quiche for your next brunch or week night dinner.   The turmeric and smoky paprika are sure to warm you on a cold rainy day and the dish is full of good ingredients for a healthy body.  This recipe is dairy free too. My trainer, Jenny at Mindful Mule, told me about a clean food blog called Clean Food Dirty Girl.  Check the blog out if you like to eat more plants than meat and also like to laugh. This recipe is derived from one of her recipes.  This gal uses profanity liberally — just warning you.

 The first step in the recipe is to saute your favorite veggies with garlic (I used three cloves of roasted garlic) and parsley in your favorite saute pan. I added more herbs to my dish including fresh basil and oregano because I have ton of it and I think it is going to freeze the plants soon. 

I picked red onion, zucchini, red pepper, mushrooms and bok choy but you could really do whatever you have on hand and like.  Just keep your ratio of veg to about 1/2 cup each.  Add some salt and pepper after the vegetables have softened after 10 minutes or so.

Spray a pie pan with olive oil and line your veggies in the bottom of the pan.  It will come up about 3/4 of the way on the sides.  Heat oven to 400.

Mix together 2 cups of garbanzo bean flour (you know this flour from falafel), 2 T nutritional yeast (it gives the mixture a hint of cheese flavor), 1/2 tsp. of turmeric and salt and pepper to taste. Then add 2 cups of water and whisk.

Pour the batter over the top of the veggies and bake in your oven for 30 minutes. While this is cooking make the BEST SAUCE EVER.  This sauce makes the dish.  I am still licking my lips from lunch.

Mix together in a blender 1/2 cup of chopped red pepper, 1/2 cup of tahini, 1/2 tsp. paprika, 1 clove of garlic, 1 brazil nut, 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp. coconut aminos.  Add to this 1/2 cup of water and blend. I added saracha sauce to give a bit of heat or you could use cayenne pepper too.

I sliced my pie into small slices and poured the sauce over it.  Healthy and so yummy.  I know it will store great in the fridge for leftovers too for my lunch this week as I try to avoid packing on the holiday pounds. Happy cooking, my friends.  Be well.

Leave a Reply

