Sprouts

Sprouts


I bought a bean sprouter.  Why?  I think I am channeling my dear departed mother this week.  She grew her own sprouts, made homemade bread, brewed greek yogurt and loved to try new foods.  When she came to visit RM and I in Los Angeles in 1984, soon after we were married, she couldn’t wait to visit Venice Beach and we dined on tofu and eggs, beach side, to her delight.  She was a granola girl for sure and many of her bohemian traits she passed on to me. I can’t help myself.

scan0001

I love digging in the dirt, making crafts, and conjuring up a chutney or two. I love folk art and quirky hobbies and left of mainstream interests.  So this week, I am into sprouts.

What I have learned in my research on the art of sprouting is that there is a huge variety of seeds that can easily be grown to eat as sprouts including radish, pea, chick pea, mung beans, alfalfa, fenugreek, sunflower, lentil, and broccoli. Each has its own unique flavor and can be eaten on its own or used to add crunch to salads or in sandwiches. I ordered some exotic, organic seed mixes purchased online from Sprout Lady Rita.

  • Lentils and garbanzo beans
  • Wisdom blend with organic kamut
  • Rainbow bean mix
  • Red clover
  • Salad mix with sunflower, adzuki and green pea

Sprouts are veritable stars of the vegetable world. Their numerous and widely touted health benefits include high levels of dietary fiber, B complex vitamins and protein. Sprouts also contain digestive enzymes and some of the highest known levels of certain antioxidants.  Harmful compounds, such as tannins, that are present in seeds are eliminated during the soaking step, which occurs prior to sprouting.

sprouts

When growing sprouts at home, look for seeds that have been specially prepared for sprouting. They will be clearly labeled for this purpose and can be found in many health food stores or online. These have been cleaned and are less likely to contain pathogenic bacteria.  I bought the Deluxe Kitchen Crop by Victorio.  It comes with a reservoir lid and base and 4 seed trays as well as easy to read instructions to follow or you can watch this silly youtube.

Sprouting off,

Sprout Lady Tracy

Leave a Reply

