55

55


55 is my age officially this week.  Thank you to everyone that sent birthday wishes and m55ade me feel so loved and appreciated. I have great friends, family and colleagues.  The best!  I think you are all amazed I am still around. I jogged this morning in the Race for the Cure 5K and finished in under 42 minutes. For me, this was a blazing speed especially considering all the hills.  My goal is under 40 minutes or 13 minutes a mile for the next run.

55 is a very arresting birthday.  The image that pops in my mind is the black and white speed limit sign.  But I don’t want to stop.  I want to go on, not faster, but on…    55 is the age at which you’re considered to be a senior citizen. At least in the eyes of many businesses offering discounts. I am looking forward to the perks.I spent some time today researching what discounts I should be looking for when I purchase. For those of us born in 1961, here is the beginning of a list of discounts I found on the internet. Start asking about them. I hope they are legit.

  • McDonald’s 10% off coffee
  • Wendy’s 10% off
  • DQ 10% off
  • Jack in the Box 20%
  • Chick-fil-A 10% off small drink or coffee
  • Best Western 10% off
  • Dollar Rental 10% off
  • Banana Republic 10% off

What celebrities are turning 55 with me?  Sean Penn, Eddie Murphy, Daryl Hannah, Juliann Moore, Hugh Grant, Antonio Bandera and Scott Baio to name a few.  Scott Baio, wow! Prince made his debut the year I graduated from high school in 1979.

I was born during the height of the cold war, the Russians put the first man in space, Chubby Checker was popular and West Side Story was released.  Those of us born in early 1960’s are the last of the baby boomers and now we are senior citizens.  Seventy-six million American children were born between 1945 and 1964; the years considered to be part of the baby boom.  We grew up in a time of dramatic social change and now many of us have turned into a bunch of staunch conservatives.  Enough said on that.  So, let’s tie up our laces and celebrate Earth Day week-end by heading to a local festival, eating local, walking more, and taking care of the world around us.  And I will celebrate another year on Planet Earth.

 

3 thoughts on “55

Leave a Reply

