Family Tree

Family Tree


If you read my blog, you know I write quite a bit about my family tree.  C1 and I, working with ancestry.com, family records, and contacts, are working to document our family heritage for future generations.  My folks had documented a lot of information in paper format in binders and files but I was worried that these scraps of information would get lost or ruined over time so we began uploading the stories, pictures, and documents to ancestry.com in hopes of preserving the research of those that had come before us.

We have traced my family tree on my father’s side back to 1728 to when they were already living in Pennsylvania.  They lived there for many generations until the Spangler/Hauck branch left the Keystone State for Kansas in the late 1800’s.  We learned that the Spangler brothers had a falling out over land and farming rights so my line of the family decided to head west for literally greener pastures.

We continue our research on the Marshall side, discovering that both RM and I have ancestors that fought for the north during the civil war. We have read of their suffering, separation from family, their illnesses and lives cut short by disease.  We understand better the resiliency and strength of our forbearers.  C1 designed and created a beautiful artistic representation of this history as a gift to her father. We continue to search to fill the rings.

family tree

 

I think that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a tree.

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
Against the earth’s sweet flowing breast;

A tree that looks at God all day,
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

A tree that may in summer wear
A nest of robins in her hair;

Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
Who intimately lives with rain.

Poems are made by fools like me,
But only God can make a tree.

By Joyce Kilmer
Leave a Reply

