Date Book

Date Book


little black book

During my morning walk, I was strutting along in the dark to Hank Williams on my Spotify after growing tired of listening to several prepared workout lists.  I opted for “Hey, Good Lookin'” for encouragement as I looped Stripling’s track.  The lyrics describe a date book which I had not thought about in years.  When I first started dating RM, back in the early 1980’s, he had “a little black book” that he kept names and numbers in.  Not just girls, but there were many listed, believe me, but all of his important contacts.  I think the date book is long gone, replaced by contact lists on cell phones and email accounts, as well as dating sites like Match.com and others.  My dad used to keep important telephone numbers, birthdays, and special events on little scraps of paper in his wallet for easy access.  Not sure what method is better, each are just different, but all of these ways of keeping in contact with the ones we admire and often love are just very endearing to me as the sun comes up on a very beautiful morning.  Happy Friday, to you all!

 

I’m gonna throw my date book over the fence
And buy me one for five or ten cents
I’ll keep it till it’s covered with age
Cause I’m writin’ your name down on every page

Leave a Reply

