Vermonner Waffle Texas-Style

Vermonner Waffle Texas-Style


When I travel, I usually seek out a cookbook from the country or state we are visiting to add to my mounting cookbook collection. In Vermont, I found the Vermont Farm Table Cookbook with 150 home-grown recipes from the Green Mountain State. Vermont is known for farmers’ markets and community-supported farms and is considered a leader in the farm to table culinary movement.  RM and I are eating healthy so the whole-grain waffle recipe that I found in the cookbook intrigued me along with a recipe for dutch babies that I will try some other time, when we are being less virtuous.

cookbook Vermont

On our recent trip to Poetry, TX, we had our first experience stopping by a Buc-cee’s for gas.  This store has everything Texan you could imagine.  While there, I succumbed to the want of a waffle maker Texas-style.  Yes, it makes waffles in the shape of the Lone Star State.   After the big UT/OU Red River Classic victory and TCU’s last minute defeat of KSU (sorry my Wildcat friends and fans, that was a tough one to watch go down) , it seemed necessary to bring out the waffle maker this lazy Sunday morning and test out the whole-grain waffle recipe in the shape of our proud state.  While in Vermont, we bought (at Wal-Mart, much cheaper than the tourist stops) a large vat of Vermont maple syrup that was also calling my name from the pantry.

waffle cooking
Waffle Texas-Style

The recipe calls for some grains that I had not cooked with before.  I ordered my supply through Amazon Prime.  You will need sorghum flour, buckwheat flour and millet flour.  This waffle stands up to lots of butter, maple syrup and fruit (raspberries or blueberries).  I ate one and was stuffed.

  • 1 1/4 cups sorghum flour
  • 1/2 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1/4 cup millet flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 11/2 cups milk (I used almond milk – my new preference)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 T Vermont maple syrup or honey
  • 1 T vegetable oil
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • Blueberries or raspberries and more syrup and a little butter (everything is better with butter)

Mix the dry ingredients together, mix the wet ingredient separately and then combine together.  It will seem a little runny.  Let it set for at least 10 minutes for the soda to activate.

Heat your waffle maker and put about 1/2 cup of batter in maker, careful to not overfill.  Because I have a tendency to overfill, I warn you in advance of this challenge.  Cook each one until golden brown.  This recipe made six Texas-shaped waffles.  Serve with warm maple syrup, berries and some butter, just a bit!  While eating ours, RM and I joked about the 70’s Grape-Nuts ad campaign catchphrase, made famous by Euell Gibbons, the spokesperson for the brand, promoting Grape-Nuts as the “Back to Nature Cereal”. Remember his line “Ever eat a pine tree? Many parts are edible”?  This waffle was more than edible and very memorable with the variety of multi-grains it contains just like our multi-faceted memories made while visiting the Green Mountain State.

cooked waffle
Makes for a happy Sunday morning back in Texas. Come visit!
2 thoughts on “Vermonner Waffle Texas-Style

  1. Love this! Sounds gluten free too. I will try them but they will probably be sun shaped. Haha. Or splatter shaped. Depends on how much time I have. ; )

Leave a Reply

