What makes a house a home?

What makes a house a home?


One of my criteria for what makes a house a home is the refrigerator door must have lots and lots of clutter.  There are articles from magazines like Good Housekeeping and Real Simple chastising us for this mess and offering solutions to curtail the disorder but I embrace the desire to use my refrigerator door, not so much as a junk drawer, but for creating a remembrance for me of what I have experienced in my life in the last few months.  I do often remove items and sometimes, quarterly, I take everything off just leaving the monthly calendar that I receive annually from my alma mater in place.  And I begin again posting items to the door as I deem appropriate.  My refrigerator door is my own tactile version of social media but in my home for view only by me and the visitors to my little house on Ashland.  One solution I read was to post your i-pad to the door (there is actually a device to allow this to happen) to avoid the clutter look. Sounds cumbersome, seems a bit cold.

What started as a toddler art gallery in our home has morphed, Kafka-style, into a wonderful gallery space. Souvenirs from travels, cards from friends and family, and photos combine in a single, marvelous mass.

When Scottish physician, chemist and agriculturalist William Cullen first demonstrated artificial refrigeration at the University of Glasgow in 1748, one has to wonder if his young child had already pasted a drawing to the door of the new device.

So here are my questions to you:

  1. Do you hang stuff on the refrigerator?  Does it give you pleasure or does it give you pain?
  2. Do you actively avoid putting stuff on the refrigerator door?  If you put items on the door, how long do they remain?  A month?  A year?  Forever?
  3. If you don’t use the door as a gallery, how do you keep track of those little items that need attention or are too special to put away just yet?

Here is what my frig door looks like today.  In all its glory!  Maybe I should clean it off and start over…

my refrigerator

One thought on “What makes a house a home?

  1. My fridge art has layers representing decades of family activities. If we ever move, it will be like an archaeological dig.

Leave a Reply

