Jack of all trades

Jack of all trades


Today, my boss referred to me as a “jack of all trades.” I took it as a compliment.  Through lots of experience and many opportunities, I have massed quite a few skills over the years.  I think where I excel best is at integration and bringing my disciplines together in a practical manner.  I am going to ignore the “master of none” negative element of this figure of speech as I always enjoyed the role of a generalist more than an expert.  As I have grown older, I am more purposeful to make my life rich and full and always evolving.  I have learned, with time, to “appreciate the things I have before time forces me to appreciate the things I once had.”

I reflected on the many roles I have held over the years; starting when I was just a little girl:

  • Lemonade stand proprietor
  • Babysitter
  • Assistant to newspaper boys (three older brothers)
  • Swimming instructor aide
  • Flute player, first chair (often second)
  • Church choir member
  • Catcher on the softball team
  • Daughter to a mom who worked outside of the home
  • Folder and bundler of newspapers for the small town paper

In my early teens:

  • Waitress in a truck stop
  • Student and athlete
  • Co-captain of the high school basketball team
  • School club leadership roles
  • Cashier at a grocery store
  • Girlfriend
  • Daughter of a School Administrator in a small Kansas town
  • Clerk at the Kansas State Department of Rehabilitation Services

In my later teens:

  • Waitress in a deli
  • Resident Assistant in a college residence hall
  • Intern in a personnel office (what we called it before it became the Human Capital Management Department) for a psychiatric hospital for children
  • Assistant to the Dean of Student Life at a large university
  • Event planner
  • Clerk in a library
  • Apartment dweller

In my 20’s:

In my 30’s:

  • Special Projects at Lockheed Martin
  • Corporate Trainer
  • Community Volunteer
  • Mentor
  • Home remodeler
  • Entrepreneur and Owner of Clubhouse for Kids Only
  • Party planner
  • Mother of three girls

In my 40’s:

  • Consultant for Project Management
  • Co-owner of small businesses: Marshall Arts and Etch-A-Tech with RM
  • Board Member of a non-profit
  • Traveler
  • Home host for international guests
  • Caterer
  • Graduate Student
  • Grant Writer and Director for a public school district
  • Supervisor
  • Cancer patient

In my 50’s:

  • Project Manager and Executive of Grants Department in a large,urban school district
  • Friend
  • Trainer
  • Cancer survivor
  • World traveler
  • Advisor
  • Leader
  • Empty nester and spouse
  • Volunteer and mentor
  • Blogger and want-to-be mystery writer

I am sure I have left a few off the list but I hope I can continue to be a jack of all trades, master of some with more to come.

jack of all trades

Leave a Reply

