Content and Grateful

Content and Grateful


My life is amazing.  I believe that happiness fuels success, not the other way around.  When we are positive, our brains become more engaged, creative, motivated, energetic, resilient and productive. I believe that genes and environment will define your happiness, unless you make a conscious change in your mindset and habits. In the end, happiness is not the belief that we don’t need to change.  It is the belief that we can.  I know that many people suffer from depression and that is different than what I am suggesting about choosing happiness.  Depression is a medical illness, not a sign of weakness.  And it’s treatable.

This blog has become a way of keeping me happy. Researchers from Brigham Young and several other universities divided more than 100 people into groups, and asked everyone to keep a daily journal for four weeks. While one group was instructed to write only about positive experiences for which they were grateful, another group wrote generally about their day. Compared to people who wrote more generally, the grateful journal keepers experienced significant boosts in happiness and life satisfaction. Keeping a blog helps me savor my positive experiences, which enhances the impact on my overall outlook, the study explains.

But that’s not all. When the study participants also called a friend or loved one to share their positive journal entries, their gains in happiness and life satisfaction doubled and sometimes even tripled.  So thank you to those that read my blog and share your reflections because it makes me so happy.  What else makes me happy?

  1. Two weeks of holiday break ahead of me to enjoy with friends and family.
  2. A warm and happy home.
  3. A healthy husband and three healthy children.
  4. A healthy me.
  5. Time to breathe.
  6. Purposeful work.
  7. Great friends.
  8. Ability to travel.
  9. Freedom to stay home.
  10. Experience
  11. Not sweating the small stuff like… Did I shave my legs? Has that baby spit-up been on my top all day? Will I get that opportunity? Am I doing what I need to be doing? Am I a good mother?
  12. The “shoulds” in my head are quieter.
  13. Memories.
  14. An exercise pattern.
  15. Kat.

The holiday season is full of expectations so be ginger with them and be mindful of the media that can distort the mind. So take care of your emotional, physical and spiritual well-being.  If you don’t look after it, who will?

What makes you happy?

scan0001

Leave a Reply

