TBT and Recipes

TBT and Recipes


IMG_1139 (1)

Collecting cookbooks and recipes is my guilty pleasure like buying shoes are for my gal pals.  I like shoes too but I relish collecting and reading cookbooks.   I usually purchase a new one to add to my collection during my travels and the habit helps me to continue to explore the local cuisine long after I am back in the fort. Every region has a specialty, have you noticed? I inherited my mother’s recipe box with all the cards and handwritten notes scribbled by the long gone bakers in their own unique style of longhand.  There is one recipe for basic bread that my mother made nearly every week.  When she was no longer able to make the bread, she coached my Dad in how to prepare it and you can see his horrible penmanship added to hers on the recipe card.  There is a recipe for Croghan Bologna, shared by my North Country Mother-in-Law that I modified and added pistachios and garlic which pairs well with sharp cheddar cheese and a buttery cracker.  There is a recipe from my brother, Ed, who shared it with me years ago and is always enjoyed around the holiday season as it involves bacon and crab.   My maternal grandmother Helen made  a holiday cookie that she called Sandies.  She kept them sealed in a container in the refrigerator so the cookies were sweet and cold and tasted divine.  At my bridal shower, each guest shared a recipe with me to start my own recipe box.  While this tradition is very TBT, I still treasure the recipes and added them to my mother’s collection and keep the box next to my ever expanding shelf of cookbooks.

IMG_1138

5 thoughts on “TBT and Recipes

  1. Goulash

    2 tablespoons butter
    2 large onions, diced
    1 clove garlic, minced
    2 pounds flank steak cubed
    1/4 teaspoon caraway seed
    1/2 teaspoon dried marjoram
    3 tablespoons paprika
    2 cups water
    1 beef bouillon cube
    1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
    1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
    1/4 tsp. Salt
    1-2 tbsp. Flour mixed in cold water

    Combine in crockpot. Cook until meat is falling apart. Serve over thick egg noodles or potato dumplings.

  2. Easy Chocolate Meringue Pie

    3 large egg whites
    1/3 cup granulated sugar
    1/2 teaspoon vanilla

    Filling:
    1/3 cup all purpose flour
    1 cup granulated sugar
    1 tablespoon unsweetened natural or Dutch cocoa powder**
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    2 1/2 cups milk – scalded (I did this in microwave)
    3 large egg yolks
    2 ounces finely chopped unsweetened chocolate
    2 tablespoons melted butter
    1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
    1 pie shell, baked and ready to be filled

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

    Prep all filling ingredients, then make the meringue first so you’ll have it ready to put on a hot filling. Beat the egg whites until soft peaks form. Gradually add sugar, beating on high, until stiff peaks form. Beat in vanilla. Set aside.

    Mix the flour, sugar cocoa powder and salt together in a heavy saucepan. Set the pan over medium heat and gradually whisk in the hot milk. Continue whisking and cooking until mixture starts to thicken. Whisk about half cup of the milk mixture into the egg yolks, then add egg/milk mixture back to saucepan and whisk for about two minutes. It should become thick and make big bubbles. Remove from heat and whisk in butter, chocolate and vanilla. Pour hot chocolate mixture into pie shell and cover with the meringue, sealing the edges well.

    Set the pie on a cookie sheet and bake for 12-15 minutes. Cool at room temperature for an hour, then chill for 4 hours or until pie is set.

    1. Ya I love goulash and egg noodles. I got hungry after posting and have a crockpot simmering as I type this. My mom often made the “american, betty crocker” goulash, with ground beef, tomato sauce, and macaroni, but I fell in love with the paprika stew version after visiting the Czech Republic.

Leave a Reply

