Chicago Bound

Chicago Bound


© 1999 EyeWire, Inc.

Many people have told me to prepare for the cold.  I have long johns, leggings, puffy coat, lined boots, gloves, hat, and scarf ready and waiting.  RM and I are flying into O’Hare for a week of Chicago sight-seeing during our school district’s Spring Break.   Aren’t I lucky to get a week off for Spring Break?  Yes, I am lucky.  Maybe there will be a few days of sun and temperatures above 60 degrees but not counting on it.  C2 lives outside of Chicago so we plan to visit with her as well as explore all of the highlights of the Windy City. This is my first visit to Chitown so I have been doing some planning.  Below is a draft of our itinerary but I would love recommendations from you readers who have toured the city and are willing to share some of the more obscure places or activities that are not highlighted in the tour books.

I am looking forward to spending time with my favorite people in the world – people from the Midwest – but not looking forward to their unpredictable Spring time weather.

chicagofun

Day 1 – Fly in, check into Acme Hotel

Ideas near Hotel:

  • Walk Mag Mile
  • Cocktail at Drake Hotel
  • John Hancock Center

Day 2 

Train to McHenry to see C2

Day 3

  • Go to Field Museum
  • Pizza  – suggestions for best places?

Day 4

  • Museum of Science & History
  • Chicago History Museum
  • Ernest Hemingway’s House
  • Dinner at Frontera, Rick Bayless restaurant, 7:30 p.m. reservations made

Day 5

  •  Arts Institute of Chicago
  • Glessner House, Prairie District
  • Tickets to Venus at Goodman Theatre, 7:30 p.m.

Day 6 

  • Tickets to Robie House, arrive 15 minutes early, tour at 10:30 a.m.
  • University of Chicago
  • Reservations at Blackbird at 7 p.m.

Day 7

  • Last minute shopping
  • Last sights we missed
  • Check out of hotel
  • Flight home to Tejas

Leave a comment