Change request, please!

Change request, please!


Project_Management_(phases)

When you see this green diagram, you will know I am about to blog about concepts that we need to memorize to pass the Project Management Institute exam to earn the Project Management Professional (PMP – no I in that) certification.  There is a small cohort of us at work that are preparing for the exam.  In this blog, I am committing to taking the exam for the first time in June.  Hold me to it friends and colleagues.

I must memorize 10 Project Management Knowledge Areas using my mnemonic that I wrote:  I Saw The Car Quickly Hit Chelsea’s Righteous Poodle Squarely (I was told to make it crazy and outrageous so I would remember it).  And it is really crazy to think of my Chelsea with a righteous poodle.

I= Integration Management

S= Scope Management

T = Time Management

C= Cost Management

Q= Quality Management

H = Human Resources Management

C=Communications Management

R= Risk Management

P = Procurement Management

S = Stakeholder Engagement

Now, onto the topic of change. I love change, don’t you?  As it relates to project management it makes for an exciting, and often stressful, day at the office when you are not prepared for it. For the test, change requests are an output of planning for integration (I) management and risk (Righteous) management knowledge areas and are used when a project manager and her team are executing, monitoring and controlling work. Change requests are a formal proposal to modify any document, deliverable or baseline. Requests for change may be direct or indirect, initiated external or internal, and can be optional, legal or contracted.   We must know that there are three main types of change requests and sometimes a funky fourth one.  The first three are:

1.  Corrective action — an intentional activity that realigns the performance of the project work with the project management plan

2.  Preventative action – an intentional activity that ensure the future performance of the project work is aligned with the project management plan

3.  Defect repair – an intentional activity to modify a nonconforming product or product component

Funky, more informal 4.  Updates – changes to formally controlled project documents and plans to reflect modified or additional ideas or content.

Let’s apply these terms to our lives outside of work.  The project is My Healthy Workout Plan.  Overall, my plan is to walk 40 minutes, five mornings a week before work on the track at Stripling Middle School.

After two weeks of meeting my goal, I fail to get out of bed and I don’t walk three mornings in a row.

A corrective action would be to ask a friend to walk with me so that I would feel too guilty to stand her up and to also have a companion to make the exercise more enjoyable. Once I made this adjustment to my plan,  it is considered a corrective action.   If on the other hand, I had recognized that I was taking longer and longer to get out of bed during the second week of my exercise plan, and at that time asked a friend to begin walking with me before I slacked off for three mornings, that would be called a preventative action. If I tripped on the track because my pants were too baggy and I was unable to walk for two days while my bruised knee mended and I had time to ditch the baggy pants, that would be called a defect repair (not sure if the knee or the pants are the defects) but you get the idea.  If my friend and I decided to change from walking counter clockwise to clockwise on Stripling track, that would be considered an update.

Time for a stretch break and to head to McDavid Studios to see they musical, “Girls Night Out”.

http://www.basshall.com/mcdavidStudio.jsp

Leave a Reply

