Traditional English Breakfast Texas Style

Traditional English Breakfast Texas Style


RM and I spent seven fun-packed days in London just recently enjoying the culture, history, arts, fashion and food and celebrating 30 years of marriage.  I am still trying to get my mind around the 30 years aspect of that sentence.  We had a traditional English breakfast three mornings in a row while staying at the Morgan Hotel just a hop, skip and jump away from the British Museum.  The cook at the Morgan offered eggs (scrambled, poached or fried), bacon (more like what we call Canadian bacon) and sausage links (sorta american hot dog style), sautéed mushrooms, baked beans, grilled tomatoes and bread (white or brown) served in a toast rack and the entire meal made fresh and customized  to meet the specification of each guest.  Of course, it was served on fine china.  Very refined along with either coffee or hot tea.  We felt so pampered.

beanz

English baked beans are these pictured above, simply warmed up and served.  They dunk their toast in it and lap it up.  I did not find these appetizing but the Brits love them or at least they say they do.

This morning I was thinking about those lovely breakfasts back in chilly London as I was looking over my morning news and squinting out onto my sunny and warm backyard garden.  The required cup of  morning brew in hand.  I started getting hungry and came up with my Texas-inspired version of a traditional English/Tex-Mex breakfast that I will share with you today.  I am sure Winston Churchill and the Queen would purse their lips a bit but I thought is was lovely.

Step 1.  Take a ripe avocado and scoop out the pit and a little more of the flesh to make room for an egg.  I cracked the egg in a bowl and then lifted it gently with a spoon and slipped into the cavity of the avocado.  Repeat step for as many avocado eggs as you want. I did two (one for me, one for RM) because I knew they would be rich.  Place them in the oven at a preheated 170 degrees for about 20 minutes or to the consistency you like of the egg.  I like mine runny to slop up with the toast.

Step 2.  I cut up a few slices of thick sliced bacon and fried it crispy to add a bit of salt and really folks… nearly everything is better with bacon.

.IMG_0856 IMG_0859

Step 3.  Slice some tomatoes, sprinkle with salt and pepper and a dash of balsamic vinegar.  I had some fresh dill so I added that too but you could use basil or oregano if you have those on hand.  Grilled this in my toaster oven.

IMG_0860 (1)

Step 4:  Make some toast – I chose two slices of sunflower and honey bread or as referred to in London — “brown bread”.  Their brown bread has seeds in it like sunflower but not sure if I got that correct or not.  It definitely wasn’t rye.

Step 5;  Assemble all together and serve with fig preserves and leftover avocado and butter spread.  Enjoy!

IMG_0864

IMG_0865

Leave a Reply

