25 Modern Day Influencers

25 Modern Day Influencers


kahlo

I read a news article recently that listed the top 10 innovators of our time and it made me think about individuals who have made a tremendous impact on my perceptions beyond my circle of family, friends and colleagues.  I pondered what made them important to me and if there were some common characteristics across them that made them so influential and meaningful to me.  Here is a short list of individuals that popped into my frontal lobe.  I wrote the list in less than 10 minutes of brainstorming and stopped at 25.  They are listed in no particular order of priority and I am sure if I thought about it more, I would add and subtract from it.  But I have to get a pot of chili on the stove so this list below – is my list as of Friday, October 25th.

  1. Anne Frank
  2. Martin Luther King
  3. The Beatles
  4. Willie Morris
  5. Truman Capote
  6. Julia Child
  7. Frida Kahlo
  8. James Taylor
  9. Bill Clinton
  10. Corey Booker
  11. Jon Stewart
  12. Steven Spielberg
  13. Malala Yousafza
  14. Indira Gandhi
  15. Willa Cather
  16. Erma Bombeck
  17. Mark Twain
  18. Thomas Friedman
  19. Bill Bryson
  20. Billy Jean King
  21. Michelle Obama
  22. Jimmy Stewart
  23. Gary Larson
  24. Walter Cronkite
  25. Jacques Cousteau

What are the commonalities?  They are fantastic communicators.   They communicate ideas and make them stick.  They have the ability to make the mundane – intensifying.  They have exceptional interpersonal skills and have more passion for their interests than others.  These influencers find the positive in things and have the confidence to act.  They are intensely focused, but flexible and have remarkable networks.  Many are multi-taskers and have a keen sense of timing that works for them.  Many know how to leverage the technology of their time to benefit their passion.  Obviously, many more than this short list of 25 has influenced my life and my sense of reality.  How does your list compare to mine?  Why do they differ?  Our life experiences most assuredly.  While some of the individuals on my list might be considered eccentric by some, most of these individuals looked for common ground and the common good that makes us more similar to one another than different.

To peace in the world

To peace in our own backyard

To peace in our minds

2 thoughts on “25 Modern Day Influencers

  1. Love Willa Cather! Discovered her about 15 years ago. Read all her books. Love Jane Austin even more! Have a great weekend.
    Enjoy your chili!

Leave a Reply

